Unseen Side of Mother’s Day

With Mother’s Day just a couple days away, I wanted to share some of my photography, but also a note. Many mother’s have been estranged from their children and this day is so difficult. They don’t talk about it because the stigma they feel (what did I do wrong, was I a bad parent, etc.) is strong and painful. The hurt is unexplainable and deep, as though grieving a death when there has been none. They watch other’s with their families and ache, wishing for the same, or some semblance of a relationship. Although we all know that mother’s day is largely a commercialized holiday any more, the reminders are everywhere of what they will not be getting….the love of the person they gave life to and did the best they could for. I am one of those mothers.
To those who are in this club we didn’t ask membership to, I pray for your day to be one where you see new blessings in your life, not old pain.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.