Things I’ve Learned From My Dogs

Our dogs, Chester and Charlie, without realizing it nor caring have taught me a lot about life, “why did that happen”, and consequences. For instance, we were camping out on a piece of land we own. I always worry that the dogs are going to come across something that could hurt them, such as a rattlesnake, badger or coyotes but my dogs? They don’t care. They run, bark, have fun, romp in weeds that I would steer clear of. That morning I had let them out of the camper to do their usual “race as fast as they could everywhere barking and just being happy they are alive” thing. As I looked out the window to the west (they were romping to the east) I saw something that made me frantically call them back in before they saw it. It was a badger! Not known for their kind and loving disposition, but for their fighting spirit, claws and teeth there was danger ahead. Dude was just waddling along, minding his own business, headed for bed in the old house foundation we haven’t dealt with yet, and I didn’t want my dogs who love to chase rabbits (never successfully) to think this was just a rabbit of another color! Dogs were obviously disappointed to be called in so quickly, but for their safety it had to be done. It made me think of times in my life where I thought everything was hunky dory, all seemed good, I was getting to do whatever my little heart desired and boom….the Lord shut it down. Maybe seeing the ‘badger’ in my future was the reason? Sometimes you just have to trust that the right decision was made for you despite how confusing and occasionally irritating it seems. My dogs did.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.